Religious Studies is for all pupils, of all abilities, background, of all faiths and none. However, in selecting the faiths studied in depth, the school population is considered.

At Camp Hill there is a variety of religions represented in any classroom and a high level of religious observance among many students. It is the department’s policy to begin with and value the students’ own personal and community experience.


In accordance with Section 1 of the 1988 Education Reform Act, Religious Studies is part of the school’s contribution to promoting the spiritual, moral social and cultural development of the pupils.

The department is committed to adopting a wide range of different learning styles in order to promote learning about and learning from Religious Studies including experiential activities, visits to places of worship, use of artefacts and ICT.

In Religious Studies all pupils are taught in mixed ability groups and have the opportunity to succeed through the use of differentiated activities. Schemes of work make clear our expected outcomes for pupils at different levels of ability.

In Key Stage 3. There is a combination of systematic and thematic units of work. The major world religions studied in depth are Christianity,Hinduism, Islam, Sikhism, Buddhism and Judaism.

The schemes of work ensure that we cover the Five Areas of Study as outlined in the Walsall Agreed Syllabus:

AT1 Learning about Religion
Beliefs, teachings and sources
Practices and ways of life
Forms of expression
AT2 Learning from Religion
Identity, diversity and belonging
Meaning, purpose and truth
Values and commitment


In Key Stage 3 Religious Studies, focuses on both Attainment Targets:

  • AT1 learning about Religion
  • AT2 learning from Religion

Pupils will be marked according to the level system of attainment. During each year pupils will be given 3 Working At Grades (WAG), these are compiled by examining homework’s, oral contributions in lessons and formal assessments.

Students begin the GCSE in year 10 and sit the final examination in year 11. GCSE groups follow the AQA Syllabus B, Unit 2 Religion and life issues and Unit 4 Religious Philosophy and Ultimate Questions.

AS & A2 groups follow AQA Religious Studies Syllabus RSS01, Religion and Ethics I and RSS03 Philosophy of Religion. A2 groups follow AQA Religious Studies Syllabus RST3A Religion and Ethics and RST4A Religion Human Experience.

Key Stage 3 Religious Studies Descriptors

Levels taught at

Years 7-9 GCSE AS Level A Level


Need More information Call Us: 0121 444 2150

Please enter keywords and press Enter.